Beaumont Students build a future for children in Haiti
image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Ongoing

Started

Dezember 2014

Members

61

Country

Haiti

Place

Beaumont

image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Ongoing

Started

Dezember 2014

Members

61

Country

Haiti

Place

Beaumont

Haiti

Haiti

Haiti is located in the Caribbean and shares the island of Hispaniola with the Dominican Republic. “Ayiti” is an old Indian name and means “mountain country”. At 28,000 square kilometres, Haiti’s size is slightly smaller than that of Baden-Württemberg. The current population is estimated at 10.6 million. The capital of Haiti is Port-au-Prince with about 1 million inhabitants. The main source of income is agriculture, most people are small mountain farmers. There is hardly any industry.

lagehaiti

 

The Social Situation

During the constant political upheavals, the situation of the population has become increasingly critical. Once praised by Columbus as a paradise, Haiti has long been considered the poorest country in the western hemisphere. Poverty, hunger, unemployment, lack of medical care, illiteracy, crime, high population growth in a small area, destruction of nature and a low level of development characterise the structure of the country and are constantly increasing.
Public life in the larger cities is increasingly characterised by violence and fear. Some districts and streets must be avoided. After dark, no one goes out on the streets anymore.

History and Political Situation

The country was discovered by Columbus in 1492 and was then first
a Spanish, then a French colony. The indigenous Indian population
was already exterminated in Columbus’ times and replaced by
African slaves. In colonial times, the country was exploited and
severely damaged by reckless plantation management after
deforestation of the tropical forests.

In 1804, Haiti became independent as one of the first colonies; after long battles the whites had left the country. Then came several black kings who ruled after the example of absolutist rulers. After all, Haiti was under the rule of dictatorial military governments for a long time. The best known were Papa Doc and Baby Doc.
In 1991, the first democratically elected president of Haiti, Jean-Bertrand Aristide, and his party Lavalas took over the government. Shortly afterwards he was forced into exile after a coup and could only return in 1994 shortly before the end of his first term of office under pressure from the USA due to a trade embargo and military threats.
In the years that followed, the Lavalas party was in power, but not much changed in Haiti. The former poor priest Aristide could not live up to most of his people’s expectations. He was accused of corrupt and violent methods similar to those of his predecessors. Recent years can be considered as a continuing political crisis. Many demanded a change of government. The violent riots culminated in February 2004. From the north, a rebel army conquered the country. Under massive pressure from the USA, the rebels and the population, Aristide had to resign and leave the country on 29 February 2004.

However, his supporters and their opponents are still causing unrest in the country. We are constantly receiving news of demonstrations, terrorist actions, assassinations of political opponents of the various camps and escalations of ordinary crime with no state control function. The provisional Prime Minister, Gerard Latortue, who came from exile in the United States, only temporarily administered the affairs of government. Elections were repeatedly scheduled in the second half of 2005, which had to be postponed each time because preparations had not yet been completed.
More than 40 presidential candidates competed for power, none of which seemed to be an ideal solution. Only in February 2006 the election took place, from which René Préval emerged as the winner.
The country is still in a state of uncertainty, everything is provisional. No significant decisions can yet be taken or programmes implemented.

There is also a short, easy-to-understand, animated video on the Internet about Haiti’s history:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pd5jFaPPDNk (German-only)

The Environment

In recent years, Haiti has not only been in the headlines of the world press due to the severe earthquake in 2010 and its political events, but also due to its natural disasters. Again and again there are hurricanes, storms and severe floods with mudslides. Again and again hundreds or even thousands of people die, many become homeless or starve because they are cut off from the food supply by destroyed roads. The deforestation of tropical mountain forests with subsequent soil erosion plays a considerable role in these natural disasters. Tropical rainfall causes water and mud to plunge unhindered into the valley, causing flooding and leaving naked rocks that can no longer be cultivated on the mountains. Despite some reforestation projects, the destruction continues as long as most of the population depends on charcoal for cooking.

The Population

The population is descended exclusively from former slaves and is black except for a few crossbreeds. This makes Haiti a very interesting country with its own culture in the middle of its Latin American environment. Although French is taught in schools, the actual national language is Creole, a mixture of French and African elements with their own grammar. Almost all Haitians are Christians, but Voudou is also practised at the same time. In culture, especially in music and dance, many African influences have been preserved that give the country a very special character.

The texts on this page were written by our partner project Pwojè men kontre

Beaumont Studenten bauen Kindern in Haiti eine Zukunft
image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Laufend

Begonnen

Dezember 2014

Mitgliederzahl

46

Land

Haiti

Ort

Beaumont

image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Laufend

Begonnen

Dezember 2014

Mitgliederzahl

46

Land

Haiti

Ort

Beaumont

Haiti

Haiti

Haiti liegt in der Karibik und teilt sich mit der dominikanischen Republik die Insel Hispaniola. „Ayiti“ ist ein alter indianischer Name und bedeutet „Bergland“. Die Größe Haitis ist mit 28.000 Quadratkilometern etwas kleiner als die von Baden- Württemberg. Die Bevölkerung wird derzeit auf 10,6 Millionen Einwohner geschätzt. Die Hauptstadt Haitis ist Port-au-Prince mit etwa 1 Mio. Einwohnern. Die Haupteinkommensquelle ist die Landwirtschaft, die meisten Leute sind kleine Bergbauern. Industrie gibt es kaum.

lagehaiti

 

Die soziale Lage

Während der dauernden politischen Umwälzungen ist die Situation der Bevölkerung immer kritischer geworden. Das einst von Columbus gepriesene Paradies Haiti gilt schon lange als das ärmste Land der westlichen Hemisphäre. Armut, Hunger, Arbeitslosigkeit, fehlende medizinische Versorgung, Analphabetismus, Kriminalität, hohes Bevölkerungswachstum auf engem Raum, Zerstörung der Natur und niedriger Entwicklungsstand kennzeichnen die Struktur des Landes und nehmen ständig zu.
Das öffentliche Leben in den größeren Städten ist immer mehr durch Gewalt und Angst geprägt. Manche Stadtviertel und Straßen müssen grundsätzlich gemieden werden. Nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit geht dort keiner mehr auf die Straße.

Die Geschichte und die politische Lage

Das Land wurde 1492 von Columbus entdeckt und war danach erst spanische, dann französische Kolonie. Die indianische Urbevölkerung wurde schon zu Columbus’ Zeiten ausgerottet und durch afrikanische Sklaven ersetzt. Zur Kolonialzeit wurde das Land ausgebeutet und nach Abholzung der tropischen Wälder durch rücksichtslose Plantagenwirtschaft schwer geschädigt.
1804 wurde Haiti als eine der ersten Kolonien unabhängig; nach langen Kämpfen hatten die Weißen das Land verlassen. Danach kamen mehrere schwarze Könige, die nach dem Vorbild absolutistischer Herrscher regierten. Schließlich war Haiti lange unter der Herrschaft diktatorischer Militärregierungen. Am bekanntesten wurden Papa Doc und Baby Doc.
1991 übernahm der erste demokratisch gewählte Präsident Haitis, Jean-Bertrand Aristide, mit seiner Partei Lavalas die Regierung. Schon kurz danach mußte er nach einem Putsch ins Exil und konnte erst 1994 kurz vor Ablauf seiner ersten Amtsperiode unter dem Druck der USA durch ein Handelsembargo und militärische Drohungen wieder zurückkehren.
In den Folgejahren war die Partei Lavalas an der Macht, aber es hatte sich nicht viel in Haiti geändert. Der ehemalige Armenpriester Aristide konnte viele Erwartungen nicht erfüllen. Es wurden ihm ähnlich korrupte und gewalttätige Methoden vorgeworfen wie seinen Vorgängern. In den letzten Jahren sprach man von einer anhaltenden politischen Krise. Viele forderten einen Regierungswechsel. Die gewalttätigen Unruhen fanden im Februar 2004 ihren Höhepunkt. Von Norden her eroberte eine Rebellenarmee das Land. Unter massivem Druck der USA, der Rebellen und der Bevölkerung mußte Aristide am 29.2.2004 abdanken und das Land verlassen.

Seine Anhänger und deren Gegner sorgen jedoch immer noch für Unruhe im Land. Laufend erreichen uns Nachrichten von Demonstrationen, Terroraktionen, Ermordungen politischer Gegner der verschiedenen Lager und Eskalationen der gewöhnlichen Kriminalität bei fehlender staatlicher Kontrollfunktion. Der provisorische, aus dem US-amerikanischen Exil kommende Premierminister, Gerard Latortue, verwaltete nur vorübergehend die Regierungsgeschäfte. In der zweiten Jahreshälfte 2005 waren immer wieder Wahlen angesetzt, die jedesmal verschoben werden mußten, da die Vorbereitungen noch nicht abgeschlossen waren.
Über 40 Präsidentenkandidaten bewarben sich um die Macht, von denen keiner eine Ideallösung zu sein schien. Erst im Februar 2006 hat die Wahl stattgefunden, aus der René Préval als Sieger hervorging.
Das Land befindet sich weiter in einem unsicheren Schwebezustand, alles ist provisorisch. Es können noch keine wesentlichen Entscheidungen getroffen oder Programme durchgeführt werden.

Zur Geschichte Haitis gibt es auch ein kurzes, einfach verständliches, animiertes Video im Internet:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pd5jFaPPDNk

Die Umwelt

In den letzten Jahren war Haiti nicht nur durch das schwere Erdbeben im Jahr 2010 und seine politischen Ereignisse in den Schlagzeilen der Weltpresse sondern auch durch seine Naturkatastrophen. Immer wieder gibt es Hurrikans, Stürme und schwere Überschwemmungen mit Schlammlawinen. Immer wieder sterben dabei hunderte oder gar tausende von Menschen, viele werden obdachlos oder müssen hungern, weil sie durch zerstörte Straßen von der Lebensmittelzufuhr abgeschnitten sind. Bei diesen Naturkatastrophen spielt die Abholzung der tropischen Bergwälder mit nachfolgender Bodenerosion eine nicht unerhebliche Rolle. Bei tropischen Regengüssen stürzen Wasser und Schlamm ungehindert ins Tal, führen dort zu Überschwemmungen und lassen auf den Bergen nackte, nicht mehr bebaubare Felsen zurück. Trotz einiger Aufforstungsprojekte geht die Zerstörung weiter, solange der größte Teil der Bevölkerung auf Holzkohle zum Kochen angewiesen ist.

Die Bevölkerung

Die Bevölkerung stammt ausschließlich von ehemaligen Sklaven ab und ist bis auf einige Mischlinge schwarz. Dadurch ist Haiti ein sehr interessantes Land mit einer ganz eigenen Kultur inmitten seiner lateinamerikanischen Umgebung. Zwar wird in den Schulen französisch gelehrt, die eigentliche Landessprache ist aber kreolisch, eine Mischung aus französischen und afrikanischen Elementen mit einer eigenen Grammatik. Fast alle Haitianer sind Christen, daneben wird aber gleichzeitig auch der Voudou praktiziert. In der Kultur, insbesondere in Musik und Tanz haben sich noch viele afrikanische Einflüsse erhalten, die dem Land einen ganz besonderen Charakter geben.

Die Texte dieser Seite wurden geschrieben von unserem Projektpartner Pwojè men kontre