Iyolwa – Water & Sanitation
image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Ongoing

Started

April 2015

Members

30

Country

Uganda

Place

Iyolwa

image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Ongoing

Started

April 2015

Members

30

Country

Uganda

Place

Iyolwa

Project details

Project details

For the construction of the school, it is essential to create a basic hygienic supply and to provide clean water. The necessary expertise and financial resources for technical solutions are lacking on site. Therefore, the Iyolwa project group has been working on the planning and dimensioning of sanitary facilities and water filtration plants since March 2015. The execution of the project is divided into the following project phases:

Project Phase I – Sanitary complex for girls’ accommodation (2015)

For the sanitary complex, we decided to build so-called urine-diverting dry toilets. Explained in more detail are the operating principle and reasons for choosing this technology and the maintenance and operating concept. Training of school staff and pupils takes place at regular intervals.

Project Phase II – Water treatment plant for girls’ accommodation (2016)

For the construction of the aboveground cistern with water treatment plant for the girls’ shelter, a slow sand filter system was used. Personnel have also been trained for this purpose. In addition, the use of sand filters in private households was trained in workshops.

The technical building was built using environmentally friendly ISSB technology. For this purpose, bricklayers were trained, and workshops were held for students of the Technical School Iyolwa.

Project Phase III – Water treatment plant for the school building (2017)

Two underground cisterns with a total capacity of 80,000 litres were built to supply the school with water. This includes a water treatment plant and an elevated tank. Slow sand filters and ISSB technology were also installed again.

Iyolwa – Water & Sanitation Unterstützung für ein Schulzentrum in Uganda
image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Laufend

Begonnen

April 2015

Mitgliederzahl

30

Land

Uganda

Ort

Iyolwa

image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Laufend

Begonnen

April 2015

Mitgliederzahl

30

Land

Uganda

Ort

Iyolwa

Projektdetails

Projektdetails

Für den Aufbau der Schule durch unseren Projektpartner ist es essentiell, eine grundlegende hygienische Versorgung zu schaffen und sauberes Wasser bereitzustellen. Dafür fehlen vor Ort sowohl das nötige Fachwissen als auch die finanziellen Mittel für technische Lösungen. Daher arbeitet die Projektgruppe Iyolwa seit März 2015 an der Planung und Dimensionierung von sanitären Einrichtungen und Wasserfiltrationsanlagen. Die Umsetzung des Vorhabens gliedert sich in folgende Projektphasen:

Projektphase I – Sanitärkomplex für die Mädchenunterkunft (2015)
Für den Sanitärkomplex entschieden wir uns für den Bau sogenannter Trockentrenntoiletten. Die Gründe für diese Wahl, eine Beschreibung der verwendeten Technologie sowie das Wartungs- und Betriebskonzept werden näher erläutert. In regelmäßigen Intervallen finden Schulungen des Schulpersonals und der SchülerInnen statt.

Projektphase II – Wasseraufbereitungsanlage für die Mädchenunterkunft (2016)
Beim Bau der oberirdischen Zisterne mit Wasseraufbereitungsanlage für die Mädchenunterkunft wurde auf die Verwendung eines Langsamsandfiltersystems zurückgegriffen. Hierfür wurde ebenfalls Personal ausgebildet. Außerdem wurde in Workshops die Verwendung von Sandfiltern in Privathaushalten geschult.

Das Technikgebäude wurde mit der umweltschonenden ISSB-Technologie gebaut. Dazu wurden Maurer fortgebildet, außerdem wurden Workshops für Studenten der Technical School Iyolwa durchgeführt.

Projektphase III – Wasseraufbereitungsanlage für das Schulgebäude (2017)
Um die Schule mit Wasser zu versorgen, wurden unterirdische Zisternen mit einem Fassungsvermögen von 80.000 Litern gebaut. Dazu gehören eine Wasseraufbereitungsanlage und ein Hochtank. Langsamsandfilter und ISSB-Technologie wurden hier wieder verbaut.