Iyolwa – Water & Health
image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Ongoing

Started

April 2015

Members

30

Country

Uganda

Place

Iyolwa

image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Ongoing

Started

April 2015

Members

30

Country

Uganda

Place

Iyolwa

Uganda

Uganda

Uganda is a landlocked country located in east Africa at the northern shore of Lake Victoria. It has five neighbouring countries. Uganda borders Kenya to the east, Southern Sudan to the north, the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west and Rwanda and Tanzania to the south. The official languages are English and Swahili. There are also over 50 tribal languages, with Luganda being the most spoken of them.

In 1962, Uganda gained independence from the British Commonwealth. This was followed by 20 years of dictatorship under Idi Amin and Milton Obote in the period from 1966 to 1986. Grave violation of human rights and civil war-like conditions were very common. Development was slowed down, and Uganda is still fighting with the discredit from these past times.

Yoweri Museveni reigns the country since 1986. He established a democratic structure and thus stabilised the politics in Uganda. However, the electoral system and government are not uncriticised, resulting in smaller demonstrations which often get violently disrupted by the police. The overall security situation in Uganda is rather good.

Uganda fills up one of the bottom ranks of the GDP per capita and Human Development Index. But is a rich country nonetheless, having a fascinating nature and biodiversity. Winston Churchill called it once ‘The pearl of Africa’. Tourism is slowly starting to pick up, but infrastructure is still lacking behind in comparison to Kenia and Tanzania.

Down below we present some images members of our project group took nearby the project location, when they had a few days off and went to one of Uganda’s many national parks or had coincidental encounters on the roads.

Iyolwa – Water & Health Unterstützung für ein Schulzentrum in Uganda
image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Abgeschlossen

Begonnen

April 2015

Beendet

Oktober 2021

Mitgliederzahl

30

Land

Uganda

Ort

Iyolwa

image/svg+xml
image/svg+xml

Status

Abgeschlossen

Begonnen

April 2015

Beendet

Oktober 2021

Mitgliederzahl

30

Land

Uganda

Ort

Iyolwa

Uganda

Uganda

Uganda ist ein Binnenstaat in Ostafrika und liegt am nördlichen Ufer des Viktoriasees. Seine Nachbarländer sind Südsudan, Kenia, Tansania, Ruanda und die Demokratische Republik Kongo. In Uganda gibt es über 50 Stammessprachen, die meist gesprochene von diesen ist Luganda. Die Amtssprachen sind Englisch und Swahili.

Uganda war Teil des British Commonwealth und erlangte 1962 die Unabhängigkeit. Es folgten, von 1966 bis 1986, 20 Jahre diktatorische Herrschaft durch Idi Amin und Milton Obote mit schwersten Menschenrechtsverletzungen und bürgerkriegsartigen Zuständen. Dies hat die Entwicklung des Landes erheblich beeinflusst. Der schlechte Ruf Ugandas wird nur langsam besser.

Seit 1986 hat sich die politische Lage stabilisiert. Yoweri Museveni regiert seitdem das Land und hat demokratische Strukturen eingeführt. Die Sicherheitslage ist in Uganda weitestgehend gut. Die Kritik an der Regierung und dem Wahlsystem sorgen allerdings immer wieder für kleinere Demonstrationen, die von der Polizei oft gewaltsam beendet werden.

Uganda ist eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt beim Vergleich von BIP/Kopf. Der Human Development Index befindet sich unter den letzten Nationen. Andererseits erfreut sich Uganda inzwischen über ersten verhaltenen Tourismus, wobei die Infrastruktur noch weit hinter Kenia und Tansania zurückliegt. Uganda hat eine faszinierende Natur und Artenvielfalt zu bieten, die Winston Churchill bereits dazu veranlasste Uganda als “Perle Afrikas” zu bezeichnen.

Über die Projektarbeit hinaus lassen wir uns von Uganda, dem Land und seinen Menschen beeindrucken. Einige Impressionen, von Mitgliedern der Projektgruppe festgehalten, wollen wir hier präsentieren. Sie stammen aus verschiedenen Nationalparks, dem Projektstandort oder zufälligen Begegnungen während den langen Autofahrten.