image/svg+xml

Founding

Februar 2005

Current Projects

12

Completed Projects

21

Members

317

Former Members

582

Location

Karlsruhe

image/svg+xml

Founding

Februar 2005

Current Projects

12

Completed Projects

21

Members

317

Former Members

582

Location

Karlsruhe

Our History

Founding – 2005

Our organization was founded after the tsunami catastrophe in the Indian Ocean on Christmas 2004. With the desire to help the people who lost all their livelihood to the earthquake, students from the University of Karlsruhe joined forces and began to raise aid and collect money for those affected in Sri Lanka. A little later this group had an inspiring idea: why shouldn‘t KIT students continue to use their extensive expertise to help people in the poorest regions of the world? EWB was born.

Development

In the more than ten years that have elapsed since the founding, our organization has developed enormously. Instead of the handful of students who initiated the organization, the EWB idea is now supported by more than 300 students. Students of all fields gather under the EWB banner and with their individual skills contribute to the success of the projects and the organization as whole. At the same time, the university affiliation is no longer a limit. In addition to KIT students, fellow students from the surrounding universities (HsKA, PH Karlsruhe, HS Pforzheim) also make their contribution. Therefore the diversity of the training paths is enormous. The projects benefit greatly from the great variety of creative ideas that the members bring from their university experience. The projects themselves also developed over the years and gained in scope and complexity. Currently, nine project groups are realizing their visions in countries all around the globe. In addition, our members can look back on a large number of successful projects in all areas of development cooperation: EWB builds wells and rainwater cisterns, renovates villages and schools, builds bridges, sanitation facilities and supplies villages with solar power. The ability to grow personally with the challenges of development cooperation is thrilling and motivating. The shared conviction of bringing a global society closer together brings our organization closer and looks into our future with a thirst for action.

Registration as non-profit organization – 2008

In the year of 2007 EWB got registered as non-profit organization but was not yet listed in the association register. This happened one year later in June 2008, after the therefore required constitution was passed in the general meeting. From then on, the individual members were no longer liable with their private assets to the obligations of the association. Other advantages, like the opening of an organization’s account, also resulted from this entry.

10th anniversary – 2015

In May 2015 the time had finally come! We celebrated our 10th anniversary and can look back proudly over the past years. It was a perfect occasion to sum up what happened, how EWB Karlsruhe was founded, what projects we mastered, how fast and strong we have grown as organization, and what a colorful mix of students from different disciplines we really are. In addition to the organizing team, which once again deserves a great gratitude, each project group prepared a country-specific meal of their project country for the anniversary celebration. In addition to an exciting evening program there was a lot food, drinks and laughter.

Former Board Members

June 2018 – May 2019
Andreas Netsch, Chairman
Marek Fritz, Deputy Chairman
Linda Babilon, Treasurer
Hannah Trick, Secretary
David Kienbaum, Project Coordinator

June 2017 – May 2018
Johannes Klein, Chairman
Fabian Besse, Deputy Chairman
Antoine Duchesne, Treasurer
Manon Weichert, Secretary
Andreas Netsch, Project Coordinator

June 2016 – June 2017
Marcel Mott, Chairman
Jorge Cardenas Prieto, Deputy Chairman
Johannes Klein, Treasurer
Marina Walter, Secretary
Michael Kalkbrenner, Project Coordinator

June 2015 – June 2016
Philipp Heberle, Chairman
Simon Aurand, Deputy Chairman
Benjamin Hötzel, Treasurer
Susanne Benz, Secretary
Andreas Schäfer, Project Coordinator

June 2014 – June 2015
Tim Stihler, Chairman
Sally Gündel, Deputy Chairman
Caroline Hirsch, Treasurerin
Lisa Bönisch, Secretary

October 2013 – June 2014
Tim Stihler, Chairman
Sally Gündel, Deputy Chairman
Lisa Bönisch, Treasurerin
Vinzenz Pfannenstein, Secretary

October 2012 – Oktober 2013
Lennart Willms, Chairman
Martina Marek, Deputy Chairman
Marius Lang, Treasurer
Dominik Gatz, Secretary

October 2011 – October 2012
Kaili Shen, Chairman
Alexandra Mrzigod, Deputy Chairman
Tim Eck, Treasurer
Christian Schänzle, Secretary

October 2010 – October 2011
Christian Kelleter, Chairman
Christian Schänzle, Deputy Chairman
Stefanie Grün, Treasurerin
Nicolas Bouton, Secretary

October 2009 – October 2010
Michael Schnapper, Chairman
Matthias Schulz, Deputy Chairman
Janna Krummenacker, Treasurerin
Marco Vögele, Secretary

2008 – 2009
Julius Kramer, Chairman
Sebastian Horn, Deputy Chairman
Dominique Sghair, Treasurerin
Dominik Ziemke, Secretary

2007 – 2008
Thomas Herzig, Chairman
Marcel Müller, Deputy Chairman
Alexandra Bertsch, Treasurerin
Daniel Popp, Secretary

2006 – 2007
Pierre Frank, Chairman
Christiane Leukel, Deputy Chairman
Matthias Wolf, Treasurer
Miriam Leicht, Secretary

2005 – 2006
Mussie Kidane, Chairman
Pierre Frank, Deputy Chairman
Matthias Wolf, Treasurer
Miriam Leicht, Secretary

2005
Fabian Sommer, Chairman
Mussie Kidane, Deputy Chairman
Matthias Wolf, Treasurer
Eletta Negretti, Secretary

image/svg+xml

Gründung

Februar 2005

laufende Projekte

12

abgeschlossene Projekte

20

Mitglieder

317

ehemalige Mitglieder

582

Ort

Karlsruhe

image/svg+xml

Gründung

Februar 2005

laufende Projekte

12

abgeschlossene Projekte

20

Mitglieder

317

ehemalige Mitglieder

582

Ort

Karlsruhe

Vereinsgeschichte

Gründung – 2005

Angefangen hat unsere Vereinsgeschichte mit der Tsunami-Katastrophe im Indischen Ozean an Weihnachten 2004. Mit dem Wunsch jenen Menschen zu helfen, denen das Erdbeben die Lebensgrundlage entrissen hatte, haben sich Studenten der Universität Karlsruhe zusammengetan und begannen Hilfsgüter und Geld für die Betroffenen auf Sri Lanka zu sammeln. Diese Gruppe war es, die wenig später die zündende Idee hatte: Warum sollten KIT-Studenten nicht auch in Zukunft ihr umfangreiches Fachwissen dazu einsetzen, Menschen in den ärmsten Regionen der Erde zu helfen? EWB war geboren. Die Gründungssitzung fand im Februar 2005 statt.

Entwicklung

In den mehr als zehn Jahren, die seit der Gründung vergangen sind, hat unser Verein sich gewaltig entwickelt. Statt der Handvoll Studenten, die den Verein initiierten, wird die EWB-Idee heute von mehr als 300 Studenten getragen. Studenten aller Fachrichtungen sammeln sich unter dem EWB-Banner und tragen mit ihren individuellen Fähigkeiten zum Erfolg der Projekte und des Vereins bei. Auch die Hochschulzugehörigkeit stellt dabei keine Grenze mehr dar. Neben Studierenden des KITs leisten auch Kommilitonen der umliegenden Hochschulen (HsKA, PH Karlsruhe, HS Pforzheim) ihren Beitrag. Dabei macht gerade die Diversität der Ausbildungswege immens viel aus. Die Projekte profitieren stark von der großen Vielfalt an kreativen Ideen, die die Mitglieder aus ihrer Hochschulerfahrung mitbringen. Auch die Projekte selbst entwickelten sich mit den Jahren und gewannen an Umfang und Komplexität. Längst setzt der Verein sich nicht nur mit einem einzigen Projekt in einem Land ein. Aktuell verwirklichen elf Projektgruppen ihre Überzeugungen in allen Ecken des Globus. Zudem können unsere Mitglieder auf eine Vielzahl erfolgreicher Projekte in allen Bereichen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zurückschauen: EWB baut Brunnen und Regenwasserzisternen, Gemeindezentren oder Schulen, errichtet Brücken, Sanitäranlagen,  und versorgt Waisenhäuser mit Strom aus Solaranlagen. Die Möglichkeit, persönlich an den Herausforderungen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zu wachsen, begeistert und motiviert. Die geteilte Überzeugung, eine globale Gesellschaft enger zusammenwachsen zu lassen, verbindet unseren Verein und lässt uns voller Tatendrang in die Zukunft blicken.

Eintrag als Verein – 2008

Bereits im Jahr 2007 erfolgte die Eintragung als gemeinnütziger Verein, jedoch nicht in das Vereinsregister. Dies geschah ein Jahr später, im Juni 2008, nachdem auf der Mitgliederversammlung die dafür nötige Satzungsänderung beschlossen wurde. Fortan hafteten nicht mehr die einzelnen Mitglieder mit ihrem Privatvermögen für die Verpflichtungen des Vereins und auch andere Vorteile, wie die Eröffnung eines Vereinskonto, ergaben sich mit dieser Eintragung.

10 Jähriges Jubiläum – 2015

Im Mai 2015 war es endlich soweit! Wir feierten unser 10 jähriges Bestehen und können voller Stolz auf die vergangenen Jahre zurückschauen. Genug Anlass einmal zu resümieren, was eigentlich alles geschah, wie EWB Karlsruhe sich gegründet hat, welche Projekte wir gemeistert haben, wie schnell und stark wir als Verein gewachsen sind und was für ein bunt gemischter Haufen aus Studenten unterschiedlichster Fachrichtungen wir eigentlich sind. Neben dem Organisationsteam, dem an dieser Stelle nochmals ein großer Dank gebührt, hat auch jede Projektgruppe ihren Beitrag geleistet und zur Jubiläumsfeier ein landestypisches Essen ihres Projektlandes mitgebracht. Neben einem spannenden Abendprogramm wurde geschlemmt, getrunken und gelacht.

Ehemalige Vorstände

Mai 2018 – Mai 2019
Andreas Netsch, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Marek Fritz, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender
Linda Babilon, Schatzmeisterin
Hannah Trick, Schriftführerin
David Kienbaum, Projektvorstand

Juni 2017 – Mai 2018
Johannes Klein, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Fabian Besse, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender
Antoine Duchesne, Schatzmeister
Manon Weichert, Schriftführerin
Andreas Netsch, Projektvorstand

Juni 2016 – Juni 2017
Marcel Mott, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Jorge Cardenas Prieto, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender
Johannes Klein, Schatzmeister
Marina Walter, Schriftführerin
Michael Kalkbrenner, Projektvorstand

Juni 2015 – Juni 2016
Philipp Heberle, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Simon Aurand, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender
Benjamin Hötzel, Schatzmeister
Susanne Benz, Schriftführerin
Andreas Schäfer, Projektvorstand

Juni 2014 – Juni 2015
Tim Stihler, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Sally Gündel, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzende
Caroline Hirsch, Schatzmeisterin
Lisa Bönisch, Schriftführerin

Oktober 2013 – Juni 2014
Tim Stihler, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Sally Gündel, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzende
Lisa Bönisch, Schatzmeisterin
Vinzenz Pfannenstein, Schriftführer

Oktober 2012 – Oktober 2013
Lennart Willms, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Martina Marek, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzende
Marius Lang, Schatzmeister
Dominik Gatz, Schriftführer

Oktober 2011 – Oktober 2012
Kaili Shen, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Alexandra Mrzigod, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzende
Tim Eck, Schatzmeister
Christian Schänzle, Schriftführer

Oktober 2010 – Oktober 2011
Christian Kelleter, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Christian Schänzle, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender
Stefanie Grün, Schatzmeisterin
Nicolas Bouton, Schriftführer

Oktober 2009 – Oktober 2010
Michael Schnapper, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Matthias Schulz, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender
Janna Krummenacker, Schatzmeisterin
Marco Vögele, Schriftführer

2008 – 2009
Julius Kramer, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Sebastian Horn, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender
Dominique Sghair, Schatzmeisterin
Dominik Ziemke, Schriftführer

2007 – 2008
Thomas Herzig, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Marcel Müller, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender
Alexandra Bertsch, Schatzmeisterin
Daniel Popp, Schriftführer

2006 – 2007
Pierre Frank, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Christiane Leukel, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzende
Matthias Wolf, Schatzmeister
Miriam Leicht, Schriftführerin

2005 – 2006
Mussie Kidane, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Pierre Frank, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender
Matthias Wolf, Schatzmeister
Miriam Leicht, Schriftführerin

2005
Fabian Sommer, Vorstandsvorsitzender
Mussie Kidane, stellv. Vorstandsvorsitzender
Matthias Wolf, Schatzmeister
Eletta Negretti, Schriftführerin